SMS Youth Hockey LaPlante Scholarship

The Sudbury Maynard Stow Youth Hockey Association, a 501c(3) non-profit organization, provides an annual scholarship to a deserving graduating senior who has participated in the SMS Hockey program. The Scholarship is named after long-time SMS Hockey coach and leader, Jeff LaPlante, who remains a friend of youth hockey after years of service to our program.

To be eligible to receive the scholarship, an applicant must meet all of the following requirements:

  1. A current high school senior graduating in the school year in which the award is offered.
  2. A current or past participant in the SMS Youth Hockey program, with three or more seasons on an SMS team roster, excluding the Little Devils Learn-To-Play Hockey program (previously known as the SMS in-house Mite program).
  3. Proof of acceptance to an institution of higher education (accredited 2-year, 4-year college, or trade school) or acceptance into one of the five branches of the U.S. military or US Coast Guard.
  4. Completion of the application, including the provision of requested transcripts.

Application guidelines:

  1. Fully completed application.
  2. Your most recent school transcript.
  3. Completed personal essay.
  4. A signed statement of support for your application from a school teacher or administrator, coach, or member of your community.
  5. Proof of acceptance to an institute of higher education or the military – or explanation as to when you expect to receive such proof of acceptance.

Applications must be submitted by email to

SMS Youth Hockey LaPlante Scholarship Awardees

  • 2023: Judson Norris, Maynard High School and Sara Toland, Lincoln-Sudbury High School
  • 2022: DiDi Carty, Lincoln-Sudbury High School
  • 2021: Joshua Kerble, Nashoba Regional High School
  • 2020: Allison Bent, Lincoln-Sudbury High School
Confirm Delete
Click the delete icon again to confirm. Click escape to cancel.